Our hens

Have your thought you’d like to have hens of your own? Well if you have a fairly large garden I would thoroughly recommend owning a couple to start with. As long as you are able to find someone to look after them when you go away on holiday.

Our first brood of hens were hatched in an incubator at my last school. The hatching of 6 chicks bought much delight to 120 4 to 7 years olds! Oh and a few of the doting staff πŸ˜‰ So who was going to be the new owner of these delightful yellow balls of fluff? Well yours truly obviously, much to the delight of my family. I had been bought up with hens so wasn’t apprehensive.

They were all given names; Melissa – she is top bird, Sophie – is the most caring mother, Karis – who is top worm catcher! and finally to Zara – she is the most social and visits neighbours including a policeman! They have fascinating characters and can be great time wasters in a positive way.

Since the original brood we added to it couple of years later as we had plenty of land and woodland for them to roam free in. We gave some away and the last brood were called; Snap, Crackle and Pop – yes Pop was a cockerel. The names changed as Snap wasn’t really appropriate and she became Daisy.

So Zara or Zippy Zar as she was nicknamed had many adventures in her younger days. When we got home from school one day we saw her in next doors garden. Knowing they were still at work we quickly popped round to rescue her, we were curious as to how she got there. Peter is a keen gardener with an immaculate garden and Zara had scrapped all the bark chippings off his borders onto the grass! We quickly removed every scrap of evidence of her being there and took her back next door. We lived on a farm and only had two neighbours close by. A week went by and the same routine had been performed so by that weekend I decided I would have to come clean with Peter. I confronted him on a bright Saturday morning and told him what had been happening and he said nothing, I told him we would clip her wings so that she couldn’t fly over his fence as we by now had witnessed her doing so. It was at this point Peter piped up and said “Please leave her wings she comes to join me every lunch time and I quite enjoy her company and her little routines” I was surprised but have to say quite relieved. He thought she was quite a delicate little worm and bug collector.

4 thoughts on “Our hens

  1. Well done, Catriona. I really enjoyed this post. People have warned us before that once you start giving them name you’ve had it, there’s no way you’d ever even consider eating them πŸ™‚ I love the names, one of my daughter’s best friends is called Zara and, ironically, is as naughty as your Zara πŸ™‚ It’s interesting to me that they seem to have a similar hierarchy as dogs (top hen/dog, etc.).
    I realised I haven’t subscribed to your blog yet. I’m off to do it now. Just promise to keep me updated on what the lively bunch are up to.

    • Thanks. No we would never eat these hens partly because there is no meat on them. They are such slim birds, well Zara and Karis are. The others are a slightly different variety and are bulked up with feathers giving the impression of being larger. Oh yes Melissa definitely rules the roost! πŸ˜€

  2. I’ve read your blog and love it..Thank you for the contact while I was awaiting outcome of interview. It was great to know someone out there was thinking about me during interview. I only started blogging at christmas, and love it. I find it very healing and wonder why I didn’t think of doing it sooner.

    • My pleasure, I know what it’s like waiting for an answer . . . As for blogging I only started a couple of weeks ago and agree I love it too. The only thing is trying to fit writing one and going to work and keeping my head on with two teenagers around.

Leave a Reply

