Parsnip and Apple Soup

It might sound like a bizarre combination but it works – it’s simply delicious!

I grabbed a couple of cookery books from the library in our nearest city. My dad’s had a tooth removed and because he’s undergoing treatment for Cancer and Leukaemia he’s on soft or liquid food for a month! Basically it’s something to do with his body not being able to clot blood very easily so an infection is best avoided. So I thought a few different recipes might cheer him up.

Anyhow I came across this recipe to try as I had all the ingredients and love trying out new things.

Ingredients

4 or 5 parsnips

1 large cooking apple

knob of butter and a glug of olive oil (1tbs)ย 

Chilli flakes

Spanish Onion (I used a red onion as it’s what I had)

1 pint of chicken stock (though I used vegetable)

1 lemon – juice

Greek yoghurt or cream to drizzleย 

2015-11-29 10.49.44

 

I chopped the onion and added the butter, oil and chilli flakes. Once softened I added the chopped parsnips and cooked until slightly brown and coated in the onion mixture. Sprinkled with pepper and added the chopped Bramley cooking apple and the stock.

I left all this boiling until everything had softened and then liquidised.

2015-11-29 11.15.36

I suppose the colour doesn’t look that appealing but adding the Greek yoghurt made it look better.

2015-11-29 12.06.08

I then drizzled the lemon juice on top and served with a chunky slice of warm bread.

Simply perfect for a breezy day as not only the warmth of the soup reaches you but the chilli heats you through too.

As for my dad I didn’t realise he dislikes parsnips but my mum loved it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

14 thoughts on “Parsnip and Apple Soup

    • Oh sorry, Bramley is just the variety name of a cooking apple.

      So a cooking apple should just be roughly chopped.

      We have a couple of this variety of cooking apples growing in our garden. It’s also the main one to be sold in supermarkets too here. I guess it’s a habit I’ve got into to name the variety rather than just the product.

Leave a Reply

