Pacing Lacey

Half past six and the alarm on my phone goes off – well it is the holidays. I’d given myself half an hours lie-in, I’d heard the wind howling for most of the night. Talk about gusty!

The kitchen wasn’t as snug as normal as I’d had to turn it off last night. A chap is coming over this afternoon to look at it as it’s not keeping it’s usual temperature. We’ve a contract with the company so it doesn’t cost any extra. I’ve decided that my daughter jinxes the Aga, whenever she comes home for a few days (weeks in this case) from University the Aga plays up.

(An Aga is a cooker that stays on all day and night, it heats the room up too.)

I flick the switch of the electric kettle and grab my hat, coat and wellington boots. The torch shines brightly with it’s new batteries and I trudge over the farm yard to the Ladies house (hens). 2015-12-19 13.40.29

“Morning Ladies, how are we all today?” I call cheerily. I like to let them know I’m on my way so as not to startle them. I shine my torch up the 14 foot panel too see Spangles eyes lighting up in the torches beam. She’s taken to sitting up there on her own. She seems to be bottom of the pecking order but quite happy. The others are all inside on the perch with the occasional morning chatter. Queenie stands up and stretches her wings. |t almost sounds like a muffled crinkle of a fresh paper bag being opened.

I unbolt the door and instantly aware of Lacey pacing up and down in the pen. “What’s up Lacey?” I inquire but with that she’s bolted out of the door. I’ve never seen her do that before. I swing round trying to spot her with the beam of the torch but she’s already out of site. I walk quickly back outside – where on earth has she gone I wonder. I’m shining my torch up and down the farmyard looking for her. Then I spot her…

I quietly walk around the side of the tractor and there she is in their makeshift nest box. It’s almost pitch black, just before 7am and Lacey was desperate to lay her egg! You can’t help but smile sometimes.
2015-12-19 14.08.52

2 thoughts on “Pacing Lacey

    • Ha Ha thank you. 😉

      I should have written about the day my dad chased a rat with an old fashioned mop, then promptly fell over and hit his head and arm. He’s in his mid 70 ‘ s – it could have have been quite serious but the whole thing turned out to be an hilarious calamity story. Whilst checking nothing was broken I couldn’t help laughing.

Leave a Reply

