Food Frenzy

20151227_120214.jpg

As the biggest foody day of the year in the Uk passes, its time to make the most of what is left rather than throwing the whole lot away.

A couple of sharp knives, a black pen, lots of small freezer bags and scales are required. I just slice off all the meat left (chicken and gammon) and weigh the meat before putting it into small bags. I thought this might be an easier way when using in recipes or grabbing a small amount for sandwiches, rather than having excess defrosting which you know won’t get used.

Next I chop up any fresh veg but especially onions and celery and throw them in the casserole pot with the chicken carcass. Add water, stock cube and let the Aga (oven) do the rest.

20151227_120144.jpg20151227_120157.jpg

Some of this I whizzed up into soup and bagged. Some was bagged just for chicken stock for using in subsequent recipes at a later date.

 

 

Is there really any point in doing any of this? Monday morning arrives after the festive break – Help what can I take for lunch? Bingo, just grab a bag of frozen soup and a microwave container and a healthy lunch is done in seconds.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Food Frenzy

  1. We love frozen soup (suitably warmed up of course) in Chez Snail – great way to store excess veggies, great way to use up leftovers. I think the Snail has just made some for today’s lunch – yum!

  2. Hi Kitty, we always cook a large ham for christmas holiday and always have the remainder to freeze. We also make ham salad from the small bits. Sandwhiches are a no brainer (yum) and sweet potatoes also go well and freeze well as a side.
    I love your hens ,so neat.
    Ours have slowed egg production since the time change which we do here in the states but they pick up every few days.

    • Hi Mike, not heard from you in a while.
      Yes egg production is at an all time low here too since November really. It’s frustrating at times but we work with it.
      As for sweet potatoes – yes we love them here too! I put them and swedes in the casserole dishes.

  3. Yes, with the holidays and my garden season I’ve not updated my blog yet. I expect to do so and include my latest endevor – wheat production,to feed to my hens.
    I’ll show photos, identify the types of wheat and their benifits as well as new photos of the hens and eggs.
    I’ve also made a ‘ gif ‘ of one of my Isbar hens who is trying to go broody on me! (little brat ) shes very persistant.
    Until next time stay well.
    your friend,
    mike pivola,jacksonville ,florida usa
    pivola3@gmail.com

    • It all sounds intriguing, especially the wheat production!

      Yes I went through a short time of not blogging, I just needed time to catch up with being me after a hectic time at work.

      Look forward to reading it all soon. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

