Succulent Scones

 

These are just the handiest snack to have tucked away in the freezer.

20151228_162400.jpg

Ingredients

450g Self raising flour

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

100g butter

100g caster sugar

125g sultanas/raisins

275ml natural/greek yoghurt or milk

 

Method

Combine all the ingredients into a large mixing bowl until a fairly firm dough. Then roll out to 2cm or 3cm, I tend to do the latter. Use a large round cutter and place onto a greased baking tray. They do rise and expand a little so give them a little space between each one.

  • 230ºC/Gas Mark 8
  • 10 – 12 minutes until golden brown.

Best served warm with butter, jam and cream if you like it.

Once cold I always store them in bags in the freezer as taste better fresh and not a couple of days old. I couldn’t possibly eat a batch in a day. 😉 I’ve substituted raisins for walnuts before, which give a great different texture. I’ve also cooked spinach and added for a savoury taste, you can admit or add less sugar for the savoury ones.

My friend gave me the cake stand as she’s moving house – I love it!

Leave a Reply

