The power goes off.

We’re so used to living in a world with electricity and the Internet but when the electricity cable goes down we’re almost plunged into a world of the unknown. This is what happened to us this morning.20160110_073632.jpg

I checked the fuses and nothing had blown. Over the yard I saw my neighbours car lights on, so I grab my willies and head outside with my torch. Then I spotted our holiday guests walking through their house with a torchlight. I knew then we weren’t an isolated case.

I wasn’t sure quite what to do about our guests, fortunately with it being a Sunday things tend to be more a more laid back day. I didn’t feel I could go and knock on our guests door as it was 7.00am. Their torchlight headed back upstairs so slightly relieved I too headed back indoors. It’s rare for me not to surface at 6.00am every day hence me being up and around despite it being a Sunday. Besides the Ladies (hens) need their breakfast early.

20160110_073650.jpgAfter about 20 minutes the house alarm goes off, tapping in the pin number the screen said “mains power is off’. I think I know that… I start thinking of initial problems ahead – the gates of the property are electric and I’ve not learnt how to turn them off  yet so we can open them manually. Do our guests have enough torches, candles, what are they going to do about breakfast? I hope they sleep in but what happens if this isn’t a short-term problem?

 

In the house we’re lucky to have an oil fired Aga.

20160110_083026.jpg

This is a cooker that is always ready to cook on and made from cast iron. Its has an efficient store of heat which transfers to the ovens and two hotplates. One hotplate is hotter than the other so for instance you’d boil your potatoes on it. The other is more of a simmering plate. The same for the two ovens, you’d cook, bake in the top oven and the bottom is a simmering oven. You can’t regulate 20160110_083102.jpgtemperatures for the individual ovens or hotplates although there is a general temperature regulator for the whole Aga. You tend to just leave it on one one temperature all the time. Yes, it’s a slightly different way of cooking but I love it! So on the rare occasions of a powercut we can still cook, keep warm and boil a kettle for that all important cup of tea.

I grab the key for the gates and trudge outside – I can solve this… The key won’t turn in the power box, I remove all the tape around the edges and try again. It still won’t budge. Regrettably I head round to my parents house and wake my dad up. It’s now 8.00am and I’m having a lesson from my dad who is standing outside in his Chinese pajamas, wellies and his farm coat!

As for the electricity it came back on seconds after my all important lesson. I can’t help but smile, we never stop learning new things in life do we.

6 thoughts on “The power goes off.

  1. inc says:

    Power outages are frequent here on Guam. At least once or twice a year. And especially after typhoons pass by. So just about everybody here has a stock of candles, flashlights, and batteries. And portable gas stoves. Great post!

  2. Hi I just wanted to introduce myself. I found your blog via Jam nominating you for a versatile Blogger award. It looks like you have some interesting posts. Looking forward to exploring your blog. From Debra

Leave a Reply

