Look Lively Lovely Ladies

Ok so the Ladies are our hens but they have such characters you’d almost think they were humans.

20160123_074451.jpg

Friends of my neighbours asked if I would like to have their hens as they’re having to travel quite a lot at the moment. Could we manage another 3 I thought to myself. Well two hens were getting quite old and not laying any more so I said yes.

We now have 10 hens!

I’d planned on nestling all 3 on their roosting place at dusk with the others but that didn’t happen. They arrived fairly early in the morning following an hour and a half journey. I couldn’t leave them in a box so put them in the spare run and shut the dividing door off. They had a good sized outdoor area fenced off and a hen house to themselves.

The other Ladies came to see what all the commotion was about. They were running up and down outside the pen. I treated them all to some mealworms whic20160124_122923.jpgh was something new to mine. I left them to it for a couple of hours and as the others were still hanging around outside I thought I’d try to let them all into the unfenced area.

Big mistake – all three of the new hens flew at the older ones. Two of them stood up to the new ones but little Speckle (bantom) was completely mesmerised by this attack. She stood there startled and in shock. Time to separate them. In fact I left them apart until Saturday when I could be around to keep an eye on things.

Lucy (new) immediately rose up andΒ bumped chests with Marmalade and that was it. Nothing more from anyone. They’ve been keeping with their own two groups still but in time I’m sure that’ll change. Spangle is not exactly impressed still and makes the strangest of noises the second she feels someone is encroaching her space.

All was quiet, in fact too quiet so I went to investigate. The older group became rebels and crossed the farmyard, gone under the gate, walked up next doors gravel drive, through their garden up to the back of their place. Why? Oh well they discovered they had a bird feeder. Each time a b20160123_113925.jpgird ate food they were there underneath to catch the remnants. Crafty little ladies aren’t they.

So I’m going to do a rain dance – the Ladies won’t venture over there in the pouring rain. Batten down the hatches guys let the dance commence. πŸ˜‰

 

15 thoughts on “Look Lively Lovely Ladies

  1. So delighted to find your lovely blog! I dearly love reading about your hens! We have seven Rhode Island Reds, and they are so much fun! πŸ˜‰
    ~ Anna

Leave a Reply

