Spin That Wheel

Now and again I keep my eye open for a bargain. Well lets face it, we all like one.

Years ago my mum taught me to spin. I even made and designed a chair in Design and Technology to accompany my mums Ashford Spinning Wheel. Yes, I passed my O level in the subject. 😉

A newly found friend inspired me to think about taking it up again. She’d recently bought one. My mums needs a bit of TLC but nothing drastic. I looked online to find out how much they cost and was astounded to discover they cost around £300 – £500! Far too much to splash out on.

At the weekend I happened to call in at a local second hand shop. There in the doorway stood this wheel. It caught my eye straightaway. I checked it over and there were a couple of things that need repairing. How much was it – £40.00, that was all. I loved the colour of the wood and the fact it wasn’t new.

 

20160123_140803.jpg

Well I had to buy it! 

I’ll call it working progress as I now need to purchase two things to get it working properly. I can call this wheel my own… 😉

12 thoughts on “Spin That Wheel

  1. Oh, this was meant to be! I am so excited for you! And isn’t it marvellous when friends encourage us to pick up a craft which they know we are good at, but which we are neglecting. I used to paint….one of these days I am going to have to pick up a brush again.
    Can’t wait to hear what happens next for you. I also love that you have an old one! x

    • Thanks Karen, that was my thought exactly – it was meant to be. I still can’t believe it was there as had been a recent conversation and thought.

      I’ve felt as I’ve got older I appreciate buying from second hand shops more. It had been my thing before. Even my daughter loves jumpers from second hand shops now. Being on a student budget I feel I’ve taught her to appreciate the value of money. Well that’s my theory ha ha.

      You should try and pick up a brush again Karen! x

    • I mostly do window shopping but sometimes a gem springs up.
      Ha ha other times you think ‘I can’t believe anyone would want that.’ Yes, yes different tastes different minds…

    • I might well hold you that. I need to get the wheel fixed first and hoping to do that when I have a week off shortly.
      I do have two fleeces currently that have been sitting under my mum’s stairs for a while. I’ll use or salvage those first.
      I won’t forget your offer, thank you. 😉

Leave a Reply

