Tasty Delights

This week I’ve felt the need to be a little more conscious of what I’m eating. I’ve doubled the amount of water that I usually drink in a day and no snacking at all once I’ve eaten my evening meal. I’ve also been more active in an evening. I used to walk a lot in the evenings but it seems to have lapsed and just confined to a weekend. Also 15 minutes before eating an evening meal I’d eat half a grapefruit. The enzymes are supposed to help to burn fat though has it many other benefits in a diet.

I decided to make a hearty Chicken Chorizo & Chickpea Casserole.

20160128_174736.jpg

 

Adapt quantities for your household

Ingredients

2 large potatoes (adaptable)

1 tbsp vegetable oil

8 slices chorizo (adaptable)

2 chicken fillets (adaptable)

1 leek or onion

can of chickpeas (drained)

can of chopped tomatoes

tomato puree

300 ml chicken stock or stock cube

2 tbsp red wine vinegar

1.5 tsp chillie flakes

Good handful of kale or spinach

Method

  • Bring the potatoes to the boil for 8 minutes and drain
  • Add the oil to a pan and cook the chicken pieces
  • Add the onion/leek and chorizo until onion/leek are softened
  • In a large pan/casserole dish put all the ingredients apart from the spinach/kale and bring to the boil.
  • Simmer for 30 minutes
  • Put in the spinach/kale for 5 minutes

Sprinkle the casserole with parsley, serve and enjoy!

As for my desert…

20160128_174723.jpg

Well it had to be a slice of homemade Coffee and Walnut cake!

Did I lose weight – yes and feel much better for it.

5 thoughts on “Tasty Delights

  1. I am having a little laugh here! šŸ™‚ I thought this was going to be a tale of starvation and deprivation…..then, happily, we ended on a gorgeous cake. Well done you !
    Karen x

    • Ha ha no I’m not like that. Just a sensible way of keeping an eye on consumption. I decided that of I’ve had nothing sweet all day it’ll be fine. Everything or anything in moderation works.

      I’m laughing too now. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

