Hormonal Hens?

2016-02-06 14.19.21

The old and the new Ladies are here together in one place but wow what a week of turmoil it’s been! It’s like having a load of hormonal teenagers at home – I’m laughing to myself.

The first couple of weeks with the three new Ladies went well. Everyone went to bed where they were supposed to and slowly the group has begun to merge at times during the day. It felt like progress until Tuesday evening.

I always check that all the Ladies are accounted for each evening. There were only two of the new Ladies in their house. So I set about trying find her at dusk. I failed but at 6am the following morning, there was Lucy at my kitchen patio doors. She was demanding breakfast! I grabbed my wellies and a jacket, picked her up and took her back to her house.

That evening at dusk, I watched the trio wonder across the garden towards our Hampshire gate heading for home. All of a sudden Lucy stops and doubles back. What’s she up to? I thought to myself. She must have heard me in the kitchen as she looked straight at me. It must have looked like a real comedy as I spent the next few minutes ducking every few seconds as I watched to see what she was up to.

Opposite the kitchen is very narrow hedge. Lucy was looking up and down at it. At one point I thought she was going to fly up at the windows of the old barn but she ducked inside the bush. I waited a few minutes to see if she’d remerge but she didn’t. The bush was so condensed I ended up having to ask one of our holiday guests to hold the hedge back whilst I pulled her out. Lucy wasn’t amused as I took her home.

Next I discovered Spangle was missing! I found her fairly quickly fortunately, she was broody and clucking away in an outside nestbox. I returned her to the house and shut the door. However, I noticed a dead rat on the floor in the pen! Tried as I might I couldn’t remove despite telling myself out loud that it was dead. I walked next door to borrow a neighbour. So the rat was dealt with but Spangle had escaped again. She was just nestling down in the outside nestbox looking very proud of herself. I picked her up and let her fly up to her 10ft high perch, she’s the only one who likes to sleep way up there.

The kids/Ladies were in bed finally – I needed a cup of tea! 😉

 

2 thoughts on “Hormonal Hens?

  1. What a nightmare! You are going to be frazzled unless these naughty hens start to settle down to a routine and behave. But I did have a giggle though Kitty, at the thought of you playing hide and seek with the hens 😃 x

    • Ahh Karen, that moment I have to admit even had me in giggles.
      Yes each evening I’ve had to check up on Lucy. Everyone else has been fine. On Friday I to do a two hour round trio to see my daughter came home late at night and she’d actually gone to bed properly. Last night Lucy was back in the hedge. I left her there. Agh 😉

Leave a Reply

