Scales or Cups in the Kitchen?

20160220_074533.jpgI hadn’t really given much thought to the difference in recipes between the Uk and the USA until yesterday. My closest American friend asked me why are there so many conversions for different liquids and solids from cups to grams?

My immediate response was I didn’t know and in fact after researching a little I’ve still no idea. Perhaps it’s because I’m so used to using scales I’m unable to see ‘outside the box’ on this subject. Although I came across this article (baring in mind this isn’t necessarily my view) Confusing Measurements.

As a child my mum used imperial measurements for years, so I learnt about ounces and pounds for weights. During my school years I had to learn both metric and imperial and be able to convert freely between the two. Whilst my children grew up I used just metric with them. However, we still talk about a pint of milk rather than in litres. Also when I pick the fruits from the trees I weigh in pounds and ounces but I do convert it. I have this image of when I was about 4 or 5 and weighing the most enormous cooking apple we’d picked on some red scales in pounds.

My parents (who live next door) tend to use imperial still but mum will claim she uses metric. Dad is amazing at being able to convert yards into miles, inches into centimetres and feet into metres within seconds.

Yesterday my daughter returned from University and took over in the kitchen with her friend. They’ve both worked in kitchens waitressing together for a year or so. They grabbed the digital scales and set to work in metric measurements along with the odd tablespoon measurement.

I’m still none the wiser when it comes to weighing in cups and all the conversions.

2 thoughts on “Scales or Cups in the Kitchen?

Leave a Reply

