A different Easter?

20160327_102620.jpg

The clocks changed today – summer time officially begins. Ahh that explains the torrential rain and incredible clattering of hail that followed shortly. Is this a typical English Summer?

A perfect day for a spot of Easter baking!

I’m not making the traditional Simnel cake but some Easter buns instead. They’ve grated marzipan inside to make them that little bit special. Cherries, vanilla essence and grated orange and juice add to the overall flavour.

20160327_104026.jpg

5 eggs used!

I’d got to this point when the heavens opened again! Out of the corner of my eye I spotted Lucy one of the new trio of hens we were given. She was trying to shelter under a bush. Everyone else of course (8 other Ladies) had been sensible and headed for proper shelter a good half an hour earlier.

Lucy likes to be different.

Between a bit of laughter and unbelievability of her cowering under this bush. I grabbed my raincoat, wellies and ran outside to rescue her.

20160327_104726.jpg

She resided in my kitchen next to the Aga where she preened and dried off.

Once the sun shone again, off she trotted back outside. She’s proving to be quite a character. I’ve even found her asleep in front of the fridge freezer whilst I was outside potting up pots with primroses on a sunny day.

 

 

The finished product should really be iced and have small coloured chocolate eggs dotted over the tops. However, I’ve decided to admit these today as I’m not sure whether chocolate caused a migraine I had a few weeks back.

I can’t exactly call these healthy because of the marzipan but a treat at Easter doesn’t hurt does it? 😉

20160327_112637.jpg

 

7 thoughts on “A different Easter?

  1. This is typical British Bank Holiday weather really 🙂 Ah! Easter baking. Lovely. I made a lemon cheesecake day-before yesterday. That might be the extent of my baking this holiday! Happy Easter!

    • Ha ha I have to admit it probably is but I’d like to think we’ve had the odd scorcher. 😉
      Cheesecake – yummy! I’ve not made one of those in a long time. Lemon is definitely a firm favourite of mine.
      Happy Easter Jam. 😊

    • Thanks, I took some round to my parents earlier. Mum knocked on my door about half an hour ago to say she’d not tasted anything quite like them.
      They’re quite light compared to a cake and the marzipan gives it a different texture.

Leave a Reply

